The MapEditor is an integrated part of the Flowscape Portal and allows you to edit your map directly in the Flowscape Portal. From the MapEditor, you can add assets and points of interest, create zones, and much more. The map updates directly, making it easy to manage both small and bigger office changes.
You can open the MapEditor by clicking on “MapEditor” in the Portal Menu. Use the same credentials that you have to log in to the portal.
Note: Map Editor is only accessible to users with permission to edit the map.
How to Navigate the MapEditor
- To move the map around, hold down the “ALT” key + the Left mouse button and drag the map
- Rotate single objects by pressing the Q/E button.
- Move objects by:
- Using the arrows to move the object in the X or Y axis.
- Using the “A” and “D” keys to move the object in the X-axis and the “W” and “S” keys to move the object in the Y-axis.
- Using the small green box at the center of the object.
You can zoom in and out on the map by using the trackpad.
- Zoom in: pinch two fingers together on your trackpad zoom in
- Zoom out: Move two fingers apart on your trackpad to zoom out.
Functions in MapEditor
- Change office/floor
- Swap between 2D and 3D mode
- Hide/show the zones, labels, and grid
When none are selected the view of the map is stripped of zones, labels, or grid
By checking the Grid option you are provided with a gris that can help you position your assets. You can change the size of the grid by changing the accompanying number.
By checking the Labels you can see the names of your assets
By checking Zones you are going to be able to see all the zones in your map. Note that in order to see the names of your zones you also need to enable the Labels.
- Read about how to navigate and use the map editor
Publish and Save
- Any changes you do you can undo by clicking the “back arrow” button.
- If you have pressed the undo button, you can redo by pressing the “forward arrow”.
- Anytime you want, you can press the “Save Changes” button to save your progress.
- When you save, the changes are saved locally in your browser (cache memory). This means that you can leave and come back as long as you are using the same browser and haven't cleared your cache in between sessions.
Note: Multiple people should not work on the same floor at the same time, as you risk “saving over” each other’s progress.
- After you have saved you can no longer undo using the back arrow.
- Your saved progress will not show on the Flowmap (Webapp, Mobile app, etc.) until you press the button “Publish”. This means you will be able to do all the changes without it affecting the live production map.
- Press the button “Publish” to publish the changes to the production Flowmap (Webapp, Mobile app, etc.). Now everybody will be able to see the changes you have made.
- After you press “save” you will also be able to “delete”. This will bring back the map to the current published version and all your changes will be removed.